FSU Alumni Association

Young Alumni Awards

Young Alumni Awards


Nominations for 2018 Notable Noles closed on April 30, 2018.
Recipients of this honor will be notified in summer.


2017 Reubin O'D. Askew Young Alumni Award

Up to six honorees may be chosen each year to receive the Reubin O'D. Askew Young Alumni Award by members of the FSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors' Awards Committee. The Askew Award, presented for the first time in the spring of 2012, is the highest honor bestowed upon young alumni by the FSU Alumni Association.

David Ward (B.S. '12, J.D. '15)


Megan Bagwell (B.S. '03, M.D. '10)


Richard Desmond (B.S. '07)


2017 Notable Noles

Please join us in congratulating the following individuals on being named one of Florida State University’s 2017 Notable Noles for their significant contributions to their professions, communities or alma mater:

James Kassaga Arinaitwe (B.S. ’09, MPH ’11)
CEO & Co-founder, Teach for Uganda
Kampala, Uganda

Megan Bagwell (B.S. ’03, M.D. ’10)
Obstetrician and Gynecologist, Volusia OBGYN
Daytona Beach, Florida

Capt. Michael Bailey (B.S. ’10)
Combat Operations Advisor to Iraqi Security Forces, U.S. Army

Richard Desmond (B.S. ’07)
Program Specialist, Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Washington, District of Columbia

Marcus Gadson (B.S. ’09, M.B.A. ’10)
Senior Capital Analyst, Fresenius Kidney Care
Atlanta, Georgia

Sarrah Carroll Glassner (M.S. ’05)
Deputy Executive Director, Florida Sheriffs Association
Tallahassee, Florida

Lawrence Gonzalez (B.A. ’07)
Auditor, U. S. Department of the Treasury, Office of Inspector General
Washington, District of Columbia

Sarah Harman (B.S. ’10, M.S. ’12)
Emergency Management Specialist, Federal Emergency Management Agency
Washington, District of Columbia

Sara Murphy Hess (B.S. ’05)
Director of Communications, K12 Chartwells
Blacksburg, Virginia

Dongyu Jia (Ph.D. ’15)
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, Georgia

Lt. Lauren Kervick (B.S. ’10)
Intelligence Officer, U. S. Navy
Washington, District of Columbia

Stacey Kostevicki (B.A. ’05)
Executive Director, Gulf Coast Kids House
Pensacola, Florida

Shannon Ligon (B.S. ’03)
Attorney and Entrepreneur, PrettySMART Law
Orlando, Florida

Maj. Michael Lopez (B.S. ’05)
Chief of Training, 49th Test and Evaluation Squadron, U.S. Air Force
Haughton, Louisiana

Valeria Obi (B.S. ’10)
Staff Attorney, Midland Credit Management, Inc.
Tampa, Florida

Kara Payne (B.A. ’11)
News & Copyrighting Specialist
Tallahassee, Florida

Caroline Roller (B.S. ’12)
Payload Operations Engineer, NASA
Hampton, Virginia

Carly Nasehi Ros (B.A. ’09)
Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
Panama City, Panama

Victoria Rose (M.S.W. ’13)
Director of Elder Day Stay, Elder Care Services, Inc.
Tallahassee, Florida

Ronald G Rule (B.S. ’05)
Senior Vice President-Senior Support Manager, Strategic Portfolio Management
Charlotte, North Carolina

Hilary Urbanek (B.S. ’13, M.S. ’13)
Special Education Teacher, Hawks Rise Elementary School
Tallahassee, Florida

David Ward (B.S. ’12, J.D. ’15)
Chief Legal Officer, iMobile3
Jacksonville, Florida

Justin A. Wiley (B.S. ’04)
Area Assistant Vice President, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
Orlando, Florida

Past Award Recipients