FSU Alumni Association

2016 Inspire Award Recipients

2016 Inspire Award Recipients 


Wendy Clark (B.A. ’91)

Wendy Clark is chief executive officer of DDB North America. Wendy joined DDB in January 2016 after working client side at Coca-Cola North America, where she led the Sparkling Category Business Unit as well as the Strategic Marketing organization, including Brand Strategy and Innovation; Media Connections, Investments and Assets; Content and Design. Prior to joining The Coca-Coca Company, Wendy was senior vice president, advertising for AT&T, the world’s largest telecommunications company, where she was at the helm of the company’s most ambitious and aggressive re-branding and advertising campaign in its history. Wendy has been recognized for her achievements by New York Women in Communications, Advertising Women of New York, Fortune and Advertising Age. In 2007, she was inducted into the American Advertising Federation’s Advertising Hall of Achievement. Wendy is an advisory board member of IDEO.org and a board director for the Ad Council and American Advertising Federation.


Maura Hayes (B.S. ’82)

Maura Hayes is director of operations for The Walt Disney Company’s Times Square Studios, a premier production facility. She also oversees the company’s corporate headquarters facilities operations, which includes over a million square feet on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, as well as locations in Toronto, Detroit and Chicago. Maura is proud to be celebrating her 35th year with Disney. She started in the entertainment field at Walt Disney World, where she performed in the parades, danced and sang in Walt Disney’s favorite show “The Diamond Horseshoe” and was the lead stuntwoman in the “Indiana Jones Stunt Spectacular” during its opening year. Maura made the transition into the film and television department while at Disney and had the privilege of managing teams for press events in Disneyland Paris and the Animal Kingdom Park in Florida. When Disney had the vision to build a new production studio, Maura was asked to transfer to NYC to work on the project, leading to her current role in Times Square Studios. Maura was recognized with one of the first Partners in Excellence awards at Disney, and in 2011 was honored by the Kappa Delta National Sorority as a Woman of Achievement for inspiring young women through her success in career and community. Maura serves on the Lincoln Square Business Improvement Board, is a member of the Alliance for Women in Media, and is a proud director on the FSU Alumni Association National Board.


Nancy McKay (B.S. ’78)

Nancy McKay is the chief executive officer of NEST Fragrances, a boutique luxury fragrance company. Prior to her position at NEST Fragrances, Nancy was general manager and senior vice president of the Estee Lauder brand, Tom Ford Beauty & AERIN Beauty for North America at The Estee Lauder Companies, Inc. In that role, she was responsible for growing the Estee Lauder brand’s skin care, makeup and fragrance businesses across 1,500 retail counters in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico, and oversaw the launch and development of Tom Ford Beauty brand and AERIN Beauty. As a 25-year beauty industry veteran, Nancy is well known for being a brand and team builder. She has a reputation for solid, long-term customer relationships and has consistently achieved positive results in the always-changing North American retail landscape. A firm believer in giving back, Nancy was involved for many years in The Estee Lauder Companies fundraising efforts for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, where she led teams that worked together to generate more than one million dollars through the sale of its iconic pink ribbon products. Nancy is also a mentor in the FIT Graduate Program in Cosmetics & Toiletries, serves on the Board of Directors of The Father's Day/Mother's Day Council and is on the Board of the College of Human Sciences at Florida State University.


Nada Usina (B.S. ’93, M.S. ’94)

Based in New York and a Toronto native, Nada Usina is a member of the CEO/Board Services Practice and leads the Technology Sector for Russell Reynolds Associates across the Americas. She also co-leads the firm's global Digital Convergence and Mobile Practice as well as the firm's global Media, Entertainment & Sports Practice. She helps companies build excellent leadership teams and Boards, advises clients on leadership topics, succession planning and strategy, and focuses on filling Board and C-suite positions across traditional media, digital, convergence, e-commerce and mobile across companies in technology, entertainment and sports that are both high growth and undergoing transformation as a result of digital and technology. Her clients range from Fortune 500 to leading media, entertainment, consumer and technology brands to venture capital and private equity-backed companies. Prior to joining Russell Reynolds Associates, Nada was a leader in the digital and mobile industries having managed multiple profitable business ventures in sports, media and entertainment, many of which leveraged the emergence of new technologies. She served as President of publicly-traded JumpTV, which merged with Neulion to become the world's leading online video and IPTV multi-platform provider. Prior to joining that, Nada was President of XOS Broadband, which was acquired by JumpTV for over $60 million. Nada has had responsibility for up to 1500 employees, served as General Manager and President, Nokia Canada, and General Manager, North and South America for Nokia's entertainment and media business, and was Director of Yahoo's entertainment business development and sales programs. She was also a part of the executive management team leading the sports business and the marketing at Broadcast.com, which had an IPO and was then was acquired by Yahoo! for $5.7 billion during her tenure. Nada has provided her talents to the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games, the Florida Sports Foundation and Florida State University athletics. She sits on the Seminole Booster Board, the FSU Varsity Club Board and is chair of the nominating committee for the FSU the College of Business Board of Governors.