FSU Alumni Association

Emeritus Alumni Society Awards

The Emeritus Alumni Society presents three prestigious awards each year during the Emeritus Alumni Society Reunion Weekend each fall.


Nominations for the 2018 EAS Awards are currently being accepted.


Click here to download the form


Commitment to Excellence Award

Created in 1991, the Commitment to Excellence Award recognizes member(s) of the Florida State Emeritus Alumni Society who have long-standing records of devotion to the university and personal achievements that reflect honor on the university.

2012 Recipients
Joyce Cayce Black, '48
Richard Arthur Kurras, ‘52
Tex Meachem, ‘57

2013 Recipients
Donna Lou Askew, '55
Hugh Durham, '59, '61
Nancy Sheridan, '57

2014 Recipients
Don Alford, '57
Ron Hobbs, '62, '67
Marjorie Wessel, '52

2015 Recipients
Florence Ashby, '57  
William "Billy" Parker, '51  
Melvin Pope Jr., '57  

2016 Recipients
Pat Hogan, '55
Jim Melton, '75
Dr. Ray Solomon, '51, '58

2017 Recipients
Margaret “Peggy” Everett (B.A. ’63)
Richard “Dick” Puckett (B.S. ’58 M.S. ’60)


Dean Eyman Distinctive Service Award

Created in 2001, this award recognizes non-alumni faculty or personnel (living or deceased) not previously recognized by the university for:

  •     Providing guidance, concern, incentive, and direction for students;
  •     Maintaining a pecial relationship and commitment to students' concerns; and
  •     Contributing to the development of the university.

2012 Recipient
Sherrill Williams Ragans

2013 Recipient
June Alford

No 2014 recipient

2015 Recipient
Dr. Jim Jones

2016 Recipient
Dr. Dale W. Lick

2017 Recipient
Charlie Durbin

Conradi Lifetime Achievement Award

Created in 1998, this award honors a deceased member of the Florida State Emeritus Alumni Society who had a life-long record of faithful service to the university and personal achievement(s) that are a tribute to Florida State.

No 2012 recipient

2013 Recipient
Charles Hall

No 2014 recipient

No 2015 recipient

2016 Recipient
Gene Ready, '64

2017 Recipient
Clifford Ross Hinkle (B.S. '71)

  denotes video is available

If you have questions about the Emeritus Alumni Society Awards or the nomination process, contact Torri Miller at tnmiller@fsu.edu or 850.644.2765.