FSU Alumni Association

Notable Noles

Notable Noles

The FSU Alumni Association's Notable Noles program (formerly the Thirty Under 30) was created to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of Florida State's young alumni. Each recipient must be an alumnus age 35 or younger who has made exceptional achievements and significant contributions to his or her profession, community/society or the university. The recipient must exemplify outstanding professional and personal development either through traditional channels or innovative approaches.


Applications for the 2017 Notable Noles are currently closed.Applications for the Notable Noles are typically available in spring; award recipients are notified in summer.


The FSU Alumni Association congratulates the 2016 Notable Noles:

Bernard Ashby (B.A. '03)
Vascular Cardiologist, Mount Sinai Medical Center
Miami, Florida

Etienne Charles (B.A. ’06) 
Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet, Michigan State University
Okemos, Michigan

Michelle Gierach (B.S. '04, M.S. '06)
Research Scientist, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, California

Melanie Shoemaker Griffin (B.S. ’03, M.B.A ’06, J.D. ’06)
Equity Shareholder/Tampa Office Managing Shareholder, Dean Mead Law Firm
Tampa, Florida

Max Haney (B.S. ’12)
Commercial Insurance Consultant, Risk Management Insurance
Fort Myers, Florida

Candace Lerman (B.S. '09, M.S. '10)
Florida Director, Rare Disease United Foundation
Coral Springs, Florida

Adner Marcelin (B.S. ’09)
Communications Director and Law Clerk, Parks & Crump, LLC
Tallahassee, Florida

Danielle Quercia (B.S. ’07)
Director of Scheduling & Logistics, Office of U.S. Senator Pat Toomey
Washington, D.C.

Jay Revell (B.S. ’09, M.S. ’12)
Vice President, Tallahassee Chamber of Commerce
Tallahassee, Florida

William Benedict Russell III (Ph.D. ’06)
Professor of Social Science Education, University of Central Florida
Orlando, Florida

Anisha Singh (B.A. ’09)
Campaign Manager, Center for American Progress
Washington, D.C.

Stephanie Sisco (B.A. ’09)
Home Editor, Real Simple Magazine
New York City, NY

Zachary Sobeck (B.S. ’13)
Deputy Chief of Diplomatic Missions, United States Air Force
Alexandria, Virginia

Joshua Tyler (B.S. ’02)
Chief, Colorectal and Robotic Surgery, Keesler AFB, United States Air Force
Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Kelly Alvarez Vitale (B.A. '04, M.A. '06)
President, Strategic Philanthropy, Inc.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

View past Young Alumni Award recipients

Reubin O'D. Askew Young Alumni Award

Up to six honorees may be chosen to also receive the Reubin O'D. Askew Young Alumni Award by members of the FSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors' Awards Committee. The Askew Award, presented for the first time in the spring of 2012, is the highest honor bestowed upon young alumni by the FSU Alumni Association.

The Askew Award winners are announced at the annual Young Alumni Awards Ceremony.

View all Askew Award recipients