FSU Alumni Association

The Bernard F. Sliger Award

The Bernard F. Sliger Award

Named for the 10th president of Florida State University, the Bernard F. Sliger Award is the single highest honor given by the FSU Alumni Association. This award recognizes a member of the university community who has made a major contribution toward the fulfillment of the mission of Florida State University. Winners of the Bernard F. Sliger Award, named below, are automatically accorded membership into the Circle of Gold.


Dr. Freddie Groomes-McLendon (Ph.D. ’72), the 2020 Bernard F. Sliger Award recipient, was recognized at the 2nd Annual Alumni Awards Gala on Friday, November 13, 2020, presented virtually. 


Recipients of the Bernard F. Sliger Award:

Lawrence G. Abele
Reubin O'D. Askew  
Bobby Bowden
John Champion 
Talbot D'Alemberte
William M. Durham, Jr.
Charles Ehrhardt  
Daisy Parker Flory 
W. Andy Haggard
Mart Hill (B.S. ’42)  
Katherine Blood Hoffman
Betty Lou Joanos
James E. Joanos
George Langford 

J. Stanley Marshall 
Mike Martin
Andy Miller
Joel Padgett  
Barbara J. Palmer
Les Pantin, Jr.
James E. Pitts  
Bill Proctor  
Burt Reynolds 
Bernard F. Sliger 
Godfrey Smith 
Melvin Stith 
John Thrasher
T. K. Wetherell 



  denotes video is available