FSU Alumni Association

Circle of Gold

The FSU Alumni Association’s Circle of Gold recognizes worthy individuals who, through their service and achievements, personify the university’s tradition of excellence. It is given to those alumni and/or friends of FSU who, through their dedication and loyalty to the University, exemplifies the Alumni Association’s core values of Tradition, Leadership, Family, Spirit and Greatness.

Circle of Gold Award


SUBMISSION DEADLINE: April 1, 2021 for Fall 2021 Honorees.

Click here to nominate a Nole.

Honorees will be recognized at the Annual Alumni Awards Gala in October 2021. 

Process: A committee appointed by the Alumni Association National Board of Directors select the recipients of the Circle of Gold. Each year’s recipients are notified upon approval of the Awards Committee in June each year. If a nominee is not selected in a particular year, he/she may be re-nominated in succeeding years. Self-nominations will not be considered. Exceptional nominations for non-degreed friends of Florida State University will be considered.

Interested in sponsoring the 2021 Alumni Awards Gala? Click here.



2020 Circle of Gold Honorees:

Dr. Jean Accius (B.S. ’02 Business, M.S. ’03 Social Sciences & Public Policy)

Mr. B. Dan Berger (B.S. ’89 Social Sciences & Public Policy)

Mr. Christopher Iansiti (B.S. ’92 Business, M.S. ’94 Education)

Dr. Karen Laughlin (Professor; Department Chair; Dean of Undergraduate Studies) presented posthumously

Senator Bill Montford (B.S. ’69 Education, M.S. ’71 Education)


Thank You to the Presenting Sponsor:


NAFCU is the leading trade association that represents the nation’s 5,000 credit unions and their 122+ million members at the federal level through advocacy, education and compliance assistance. A fast growing and premier organization for America’s community financial institutions, NAFCU helps advance policies in Washington, D.C. that strengthen the financial services industry landscape while helping credit unions to grow and thrive.

Circle of Gold Members

Lawrence G. Abele
Michele Adair  
Robert L. Akers
Ruth Ruggles Akers  
Sam Ambrose  
Mickey Andrews
James Apthorp
Florence Ashby (B.A. '57)
Donna Lou Askew  
Reubin O'D. Askew  (d)
Kathy Atkins-Gunter
Scott F. Atwell
Dubose Ausley
Lucy M. Baer
Chip Baker
Robert L. Bannerman (d)
Charles Barnes
Eric Barron
Molly Barron
Cheryl S. Beckert
Allan Bense
Margo Bindhardt (d)
Bruce Blackwell
Gordon Blackwell (d)
Bobby Bowden
F. Allen Boyd
Dennis O. Boyle (d)
Sue Chaires Boynton (d)
Rod Brim (d)
Richard Brinson (d)
Derrick D. Brooks
Steve Brown
Yvonne Brown
Ed Burr
Joseph L. Camps, Jr.
John Carnaghi (d) 
Robert T. Carnes
Milton S. Carothers (d)
Keith Carr  
Max Carraway
Ken Cashin
John Champion (d)
Mary Champion (d)
Bridget Chandler
Jim Clark
Billy Close  
David Coburn
Mary Coburn
Lee Corso
Raymond Cottrell
Stella Cottrell  
Marie Cowart
John Crowe  
Benjamin Crump  
Alicia Crew  
John Dailey
Talbot D'Alemberte (d)
Kathleen Daly  
Hugo de Beaubien
Gene Deckerhoff
Ron Diamond
Carl Domino
Kyle Doney
J.D. Doughney  
Warrick D. Dunn
Allen Durham
Hugh Durham  
William M. Durham, Jr.
Donald L. Eddings
Mark Edenfield  
Steve Edwards (d)
Julie Dunn Eichenberg  
Charles W. Ehrhardt
Gerald Ensley  
Diane Ervin  
N. Frank Fain (d)
Richard Fallon (d)
Ray Fielding (d) 
Mary Celia Diamond Findley (d)
Janice Finney 
Daisy Parker Flory (d)
Doby Flowers  
Robert O. Fohl (d)
David B. Ford (d)
Paula Fortunas
Grace I. Fox (d)
Billy Francis  
Eric Friall (B.A. '90)
Davis Gaines
Gordon Gaster
Donald Gifford (d)
Jim Gladden  
Thomas O. Goldsworthy
JoAnne Graf
Ritesh Gupta  
W. Andy Haggard
Odell Haggins  
Charles D. Hall (d)
Marty Hall
Sue D. Hall
Anne Hamilton
Tom C. Haney
Tonya Harris  
Betty Lewis Harrison
Doug Henderson
Sherman Henderson
Linda A. Henning
Charles K. Hill
Jeffrey L. Hill
Louis Hill (d)
Mart Pierson Hill
Mark Hillis
Nan C. Hillis
Cliff Hinkle (d)
Lee F. Hinkle
Lucy Ho
Ronald H. Hobbs
Katherine Blood Hoffman (d)
John Wayne Hogan
Pat Hogan
Gordon Holder
Robert Holton
Jim Horne
Wiley L. Housewright (d)
Mary Parker Hutchinson (d)
Thomas V. Hynes
Cassandra Jenkins
Connie E. Jenkins-Pye
Betty Lou Whittle Joanos
James E. Joanos
Bo Johnson
Garrett Johnson
Sen. Robert M. Johnson
Terry A. Johnson (d)
Sandy Johnson
Jim Jones (d)
J. Lester Kaney
Sally Karioth
Lynda Keever
Jim E. King, Jr. (d)
Jim E. Kirk, Jr.(d)
Maury Kolchakian
Jeff Kottkamp
Christopher L. Kraft
Jerry Kutz  
George Langford (d)
Lawton Langford
Ryals Lee, Jr.
Dale W. Lick
Marilyn Lick
E. G. "Lites" Lightsey
David Lyons
Craig Lynch
Charlotte Maguire
Michael C. Mallardi (d)
Douglas Mannheimer
John Marks
J. Stanley Marshall (d)
Shirley Marshall
Mike Martin
Melquiades Martinez
Sarah Lewis Marxsen (d)
Walter Massey
Jack McCoy
Susan McHenry
Donna McHugh
John McKay
Jane Meigs
James H. Melton
Andy Miller
James L. Miller
David D. Mobley, Jr.
Devoe Moore
Guy Moore
Shirley Moore
W. Russell Morcom
Mabel Jean Morrison (d)
Frank Murphy
Mary Lou Norwood (d)
Joe Nosari (d)
Max Oligario
Joe O'Shea
Joel Padgett  
Barbara J. Palmer
Patsy Palmer
Mary Pankowski  
Les Pantin, Jr.
William M. Parker
Judy Pate  
Mike Pate
Steve Pattison
Durrell Peaden, Jr.
Bob Perrone
Thomas F. Petway, III
L. Gregg Phifer (d)
Sean Pittman
James E. Pitts
Ricky Polston
Melvin L. Pope, Jr.
Mina Jo Powell (d)
Bill Proctor
Sherry Quarello
Sandra Rackley
Sherrill Ragans
Jay Rayburn
Steve Reilly
Burt Reynolds (d)
Laurel Richardson
Ron Richmond
James A. Risignio
John Rivers (B.S. '89)
John Roberge
Avery Roberts
Myron Rolle  
Wilma Rosenbloom
Wayne Rubinas
Leo Sandon
Winston Scott
Sue Semrau
William Sexton  
Bernard F. Sliger (d)
Greta Sliger
Ray Solomon (d)
Billy Smith (d)
C. David Smith
James C. Smith
Patricia J. Smith
Paula P. Smith
Godfrey Smith (d)
Ron Smith
William G. Smith, Jr.
Jesse Solomon
Delores Spearman
Guy Spearman
Beverly B. Spencer (d)
Gordon Sprague
Gus A. Stavros
Gene Stearns
Betty Steffens
Brian Swain  
Mary Ann Stiles
Melvin Stith
Don Stone
Janet Stoner
June F. Strauss (d)
Larry O. Strom
Alan C. Sundberg (d)
William A. Tanner
Hans W. Tews
Norman Thagard
John Thrasher
Jean Thrasher
Rosa Lee Tomberlin
Cynthia S. Tunnicliff
Nancy Turner
Pearl Tyner (d)
Kenza vanAssenderp
Don Veller (d)
Kathleen A. Villacorta
Thomas A. Waits
Gene Walden
Gary Walsingham
Charlie Ward  
Thomas A. Warren
Don Weidner
Dave Westberry  
T. K. Wetherell (d)
Ginger Wetherell
Jesse Wexler  
Dorothy Whittle
Thomas L. Williams, III (d)
Gary Wilson  
Stephen S. Winters (d)
Thomas M. Woodruff
Thomas G. Wright (d)
Max Zahn  
Mark Zeigler


(d) denotes member is deceased

Bold denotes Bernard F. Sliger Award recipient

  denotes video is available